## MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

## MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

**Jefferson City, MO** --The 2010 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Spring Safety Conference was attended by more than 75 Safety and Maintenance Professionals and featured nearly twenty speakers. The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at Lodge of the Four Seasons, Lake Ozark, Missouri, March 17 & 18, 2010.

The event closed with the 63<sup>rd</sup> annual Safety Awards Luncheon honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with close to 150 company officials in attendance.

The **Missouri Trucking Association** received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users. Accepting the award was Danny Sexton, the 2010 Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors.

Three major fields of safety -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Drivers of the Month and 2009 Driver of the Year; and the Safety Director of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the luncheon.

The 2009 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Herman "Junior" Foley**, a driver for **Opies Transport** of **Eldon, MO**. Mr. Foley has been a professional driver for 44 years and has driven nearly two million miles during his career.

Dave Gach, Vice Chariman of the Missouri Highways & Transportation Commission presented Mr. Foley with a framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association, as well as a handsome trophy.

Drivers of the Month for 2009 were presented with commemorative engraved plaques from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the drivers was Brent Witte of Witte Bros. Exchange, Inc. of Troy, MO, and Chairman of the MoTA Board of Directors. The drivers of the month, their company and *hometown* are listed below:

January – Joe Mangiaracino, Fed Ex Freight, Sullivan, MO

February - Archie McCourt, Prime, Inc., Bergholz, OH

March – Francis Buzzard, Above Par Leasing, Seneca, MO

April - Ronald Hoover, Prime, Inc., Casper, WY

May – Jim Patterson, Above Par Leasing, Fort Smith, AR

June - Herman "Junior" Foley, Opies Transport, Inc., Eldon, MO

July - Robert Hussey, Walmart\* Transportation, St. James, MO

August - William Willoughby, Above Par Leasing, Sarcoxie, MO

September – Barry Hill, Christenson Transportation, Strafford, MO

October – Michael Crawford, Prime, Inc., Long Lane, MO

November – Glen Horack, Prime, Inc., Elkland, MO

December - Larry Wedel, Above Par Leasing, Avant, OK

**Jack Curry**, American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, MO, was presented the "Safety Director of the Year" award for his outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, his company and the community. Presenting the winner's plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association to Mr. Curry was Major Bret Johnson, Missouri State Highway Patrol.

The Grand Trophy winner in the "Fleet Safety Contest", a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best "no-accident" record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2008-2009 contest period, was **Wal-Mart Transportation** of **St. James, MO**. Accepting the trophy for Wal-Mart was Mr. Rocky Griffith, General Transportation Manager.

Plaques were presented to the winners in each of four divisions of competition by John Joines, assisted by Jim Pruett, both of Great West Casualty, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards. The winner in the "Local Division" was **Flexway Trucking, Inc., Hazelwood, MO.** Honorable mention in the local division went to **Delta Companies, Inc./Delta Concrete, Inc., Cape Girardeau, MO.** 

In the "Over the Road, Up to One Million Miles" category, the winner was **Twehous Excavating, Inc. of Jefferson City, MO.** 

The plaque winner in the "Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles" category was **Rollet Brothers Trucking, Perryville, MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **McNay Truck Line of Quincy, IL.** 

In the "Over the Road, Over Five Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Walmart\* Transportation, St James, MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **Transport Distribution Company, Joplin, MO** and **D & D Sexton, Carthage, MO**.