MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

Jefferson City, MO --The 2011 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Spring Safety Conference was attended by nearly 80 Safety and Maintenance Professionals and featured ten speakers. The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at the Lodge of Four Seasons, Lake Ozark, Missouri, March 30 & 31, 2011.

The conference was highlighted by the 64th annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with close to 150 company officials in attendance.

For thirty of the last thirty-one years, the **Missouri Trucking Association** has received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users. Accepting the award was Dave White of Prime, Inc. in Springfield, who served as Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors during the contest period.

Three major fields of safety -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Drivers of the Month and 2010 Driver of the Year; and the Safety Director of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.

The 2010 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Horace 'Joe' Gordon**, a driver for **Walmart* Transportation** of **St. James, MO**. Mr. Gordon has been a professional driver for 41 years and has driven nearly six million miles during his career.

Dave Gach, former Chairman of the Missouri Highways & Transportation Commission, presented Mr. Gordon with a ring and a framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety.

After having received an engraved watch and resolutions from state legislators during ceremonies at their own companies, the Drivers of the Month for 2010 were presented with a commemorative engraved memento from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the drivers was Kimberly Johnson of UPS of Overland Park, KS and Chair of the MoTA Board of Directors. The drivers of the month, their company and *hometown* are listed below:

January – Horace 'Joe' Gordon, Walmart Transportation, Farmington, MO

February – Harold 'Hank' Thomas, McNay Truck Line, Hannibal, MO

March - Gerald Hulsey, D & D Sexton, Carthage, MO

Missouri Trucking Association Page Two

April - Ralph 'Gene' Conduff, D & D Sexton, Carthage, MO

May - Archie McCourt, Prime, Inc., Bergholz, OH

June - Raymond "Max" Davolt, D & D Sexton, Fair Play, MO

July - Glen Horack, Prime, Inc., Elkland, MO

August - Bernie Ulhorn, Walmart* Transportation, Macon, MO

September – Roy Richardson, Walmart* Transportation, St. James, MO

October – John Lusk, Walmart* Transportation, Pittsburg, MO

November – Ronald Hoover, Prime, Inc., Casper, WY

December – James Perkins, Gencom, Marshall, MO

Rose Kastrup, O & S Trucking, Inc., Springfield, MO, was presented the "Safety Professional of the Year" award for her outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, her company and the community. Presenting the winner's plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association to Ms. Kastrup was Colonel Ron Replogle, Missouri State Highway Patrol.

The Grand Trophy winner in the "Fleet Safety Contest", a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best "no-accident" record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2009-2010 contest period, was **Jack Cooper Transport** of **Kansas City, MO**. Accepting the trophy for Jack Cooper was Mr. Mike Peluso, Vice President Quality Assurance & Safety.

Plaques were presented to the winners in each of four divisions of competition by John Joines, assisted by Jim Pruett and John Uhl, both of Great West Casualty, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards. The winner in the "Local Division" was **A B F Freight System, Inc. Fort Smith, AR.** Honorable mention in the local division went to **Delta Companies, Inc./Delta Concrete, Inc., Cape Girardeau. MO.**

In the "Over the Road, Up to One Million Miles" category, the winner was **Hull Trucking**, **Inc.**, **Old Appleton**, **MO**. Honorable mention in the UP to One Million Miles category went to **Twehous Excavating**, **Inc.** of **Jefferson City**, **MO**.

The plaque winner in the "Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles" category was **Solar Transport company** of **West DesMoines**, **IA**; honorable mention in this category went to **Flexway Trucking**, **Inc.**, **Hazelwood**, **MO**.

In the "Over the Road, Over Five Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Jack Cooper Transport, Kansas City, MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **Walmart* Transportation, St James, MO**.