P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

For Immediate Release

## MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

**Jefferson City, MO --**The 2012 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Spring Safety Conference was attended by nearly 80 Safety Professionals and featured ten speakers. The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at the Country Club Hotel & Spa, Lake Ozark, Missouri, March 21 & 22, 2012.

The conference was highlighted by the 65<sup>th</sup> annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with nearly 150 company officials in attendance.

For thirty-one of the last thirty-two years, the **Missouri Trucking Association** has received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users. Accepting the award was Danny Sexton, who served as Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors during the 2010 contest period.

Three major fields of safety -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Drivers of the Month and 2011 Driver of the Year; and the Safety Director of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.

The 2011 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Robert Miller**, a driver for **Transport Distribution Company** of **Joplin**, **MO**. Mr. Miller has been a professional driver for over 30 years and has driven nearly four million miles during his career.

Colonel Ron Replogle, Superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, presented Mr. Miller with a ring and a framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety.

After having received an engraved watch and resolutions from state legislators during ceremonies at their own companies, the Drivers of the Month for 2011 were presented with a commemorative engraved memento from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the drivers was Tom Kolb of Midland Transports in Jefferson City, MO and Chair of the MoTA Board of Directors. The drivers of the month, their company and *hometown* are listed below:

January – Robert Miller, Transport Distribution Company, Miami, OK

February – Henry Grider, TCSI/Transland, Inc., Aurora, MO

March - Ronald Hoover, Prime Inc., Casper, WY

## Missouri Trucking Association

April – Chester Surface, Jack's Truck Rental, Holts Summit, MO May – Mark Bramel, O & S Trucking, Inc., Sulphur Springs, AR June – Glen Horack, Prime Inc., Elkland, MO July – Charles Mason Conlee, Prime Inc., Fair Grove, MO August – Thomas Miller, Prime Inc., Bunker Hill, IL September – Larry Thurman, Walmart\* Transportation, Lake Ozark, MO October – Gerald Hulsey, D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO November – Ralph 'Gene' Conduff, D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO December – Donald Decan, Transport Distribution Company, Russellville, AR

**Dave White**, Prime Inc., Springfield, MO, was presented the "Safety Professional of the Year" award for his outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, his company and the community. Presenting the winner's plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association to Mr. White was Jim Pruett, the current Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors.

The Grand Trophy winner in the "Fleet Safety Contest", a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best "no-accident" record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2010-2011 contest period, was **Transport Distribution Company** of **Joplin, MO**. Accepting the trophy on behalf of Transport Distribution Company were Mr. Steve Page and Mr. Larry Kloeppel.

Plaques were presented to the winners in each of four divisions of competition by John Joines, assisted by Jim Pruett and Brent Stacy, both of Great West Casualty, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards. The winner in the "Local Division" was **FedEx Freight**, **Harrison**, **Arkansas**. Honorable mention in the local division went to D & D Sexton, Inc. Carthage, MO.

In the "Over the Road, Up to One Million Miles" category, the winner was **Hull Trucking, Inc., Old Appleton, MO.** Honorable mention in the Up to One Million Miles category went to **Twehous Excavating, Inc. of Jefferson City, MO.** 

The plaque winner in the "Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles" category was **Transport Distribution Company, Joplin, MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO.** 

In the "Over the Road, Over Five Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Walmart\* Transportation, St James, MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **FedEx Freight**, **Harrison, Arkansas.**