## **MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION**

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

For Immediate Release

## MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION HOLDS ANNUAL MEETING

Branson, MO- The membership of the Missouri Trucking Association held their annual convention October 6 -8, 2010 in Branson, Missouri and elected the following slate of officers to lead the association during the 2010 – 2011 year. Chairman: Kimberly Johnson, UPS, Leawood, KS 1<sup>st</sup> Vice Chairman: Tom Kolb, Midland Transports, Jefferson City, MO 2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chairman: Brett Sheets, Steelman Transportation, Inc., Springfield, MO 3<sup>rd</sup> Vice Chairman: Troy Robertson, Con-way Truckload, Joplin, MO Treasurer: Larry Kallmeyer, Kallmeyer Enterprises, Inc, Hermann, MO ATA Vice President: Danny Opie, Opies Transport, Inc., Eldon, MO Alternate ATA Vice President: Jim O'Neal, O&S Trucking Inc., Springfield, MO

During the three-day annual meeting, marking the trade group's 73rd year as the voice of the trucking industry in Missouri, nearly 200 motor carrier and allied industry members and guests, attended business sessions and heard from local and national speakers.

The Wednesday evening reception was followed by a full day of educational programs about current issues including, "Using Hard Times to Prepare for the Good Times... What Leaders Should Be Doing Now!" from Attainment, Inc. and "Management Techniques of America's Most Effective Owners and Managers" from Impact Transportation Solutions. Updates from industry representatives were given and Round Table discussions held on CSA 2010 and Electronic On Board Recorders.

At the annual banquet on Thursday night, John Hancock was awarded the prestigious "Frank G. Campbell Award for Outstanding Service". Mr. Hancock was honored for his 24 years of service and dedication to the trucking industry.

Lindell Byron, AAA Trailer Services, Bridgeton, MO was awarded the "G. Findley Reed Award" the allied industry's highest service award.

The Ursel G. Lewellen Scholarship was awarded to Kevin Luebbering, a graduate of Missouri State University and is now attending University of Missouri Law School. This scholarship was established by the Association at the University of Missouri Law School, Columbia, in honor of its first Executive Manager, Ursel G. Lewellen.