MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION HOLDS ANNUAL MEETING

Branson, MO- The membership of the Missouri Trucking Association held their annual convention September 28-30, 2011 in Branson, Missouri and elected the following slate of officers to lead the association during the 2011 – 2012 year.

Chairman: Tom Kolb, Midland Transports, Jefferson City, MO

1st Vice Chairman: Brett Sheets, Steelman Transportation, Inc., Springfield, MO

2nd Vice Chairman: Troy Robertson, Con-way Truckload, Joplin, MO

3rd Vice Chairman: Mr. Jim Wingfield, Tri-State Motor Transit Co., Joplin, MO

Treasurer: Larry Kallmeyer, Kallmeyer Enterprises, Inc, Hermann, MO

ATA Vice President: Danny Opie, Opies Transport, Inc., Eldon, MO

Alternate ATA Vice President: Tom Kretsinger Jr., American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, MO

During the three-day annual meeting, marking MoTA's 74th year as the voice of the trucking industry in Missouri, over 200 motor carrier and allied industry members and guests, attended business sessions and heard from local and national speakers.

The Wednesday evening "Get Acquainted" reception and costume party was followed by a full day of educational programs about current issues including, "No More Excuses" from Sam Silverstein and "Economic Outlook" from Tavio Headley of Jefferies & Company. Updates from industry representatives were given and Breakout Sessions held on: Employee or Contractor? The Pitfalls of Misclassification; Liability Issues with Shippers, Brokers and Independent Contractors; Ready or Not Here They Come: How New Truck Fuel Economy and Carbon Standards Will Impact You; and Wellness Solutions to Improve Driver's Health and Your Bottom Line.

At the Candlelight Banquet on Thursday night, Ron Breau was awarded the prestigious "Frank G. Campbell Award for Outstanding Service". Mr. Breau was honored for his 30 years of service and dedication to the trucking industry.

David Gach, Dave's Diesel Service, Inc., Saint Joseph, MO was awarded the "G. Findley Reed Award" the allied industry's highest service award.

The Ursel G. Lewellen Scholarship was awarded to Leslie Hall, a graduate of Missouri State University in Springfield with a bachelor's degree in Logistics and Supply Chain Management and master's in Business Administration, currently a freshman at University of Missouri-Columbia Law School. This scholarship was established by the Association at the University of Missouri Law School, Columbia, in honor of its first Executive Manager, Ursel G. Lewellen.

The Missouri State University Logistics and Transportation Scholarship was awarded to Dustin Warren, a senior studying for a bachelor degree in Logistics and Supply Chain Management. His experience includes interning with Prime, Inc.

The final day of the conference was wrapped up by guest speaker Dan England of C. R. England, Inc., American Trucking Associations First Vice Chairman. Golfers proceeded to the course for a fun day of golfing at the beautiful Payne Stewart Golf Club. Winners were as follows: First Flight: First Place Team-Ron Breau, Lester Elder and Ross Nichols; Second Place Team- Brett Sheets, Steve Cook, Chester Pallohusky and Sam Jenkins. Second Flight: First Place Team- Tom Ramirez, Don Kilian, Jason Cooper and Thomas Van Buren; Second Place Team- Mike Walker, Karry Baker, Lance Turner and Rick Newton. Long Drive: Brett Sheets and Closest to the Pin: Wil Hiebert.

10/07/11

################