MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

Telephone: (573) 634-3388

Contact: Tom Crawford

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION HOLDS ANNUAL MEETING

St. Louis, MO- The membership of the Missouri Trucking Association held their annual convention September 26-28, 2012 at the Chase Park Plaza in St. Louis, Missouri and elected the following slate of officers to lead the association during the 2012 – 2013 year.

Chairman: Brett Sheets, Steelman Transportation, Inc., Springfield, MO

1st Vice Chairman: Troy Robertson, Con-way Truckload, Joplin, MO

2nd Vice Chairman: Jim Wingfield, Tri-State Motor Transit Co., Joplin, MO

3rd Vice Chairman: Rocky Griffith, Walmart Transportation, St. James, MO

Treasurer: Larry Kallmeyer, Kallmeyer Enterprises, Inc, Hermann, MO

ATA Vice President: Danny Opie, Opies Transport, Inc., Eldon, MO

Alternate ATA Vice President: John Hancock., Prime, Inc., Springfield, MO

During the three-day annual meeting, marking MoTA's 75th year as the voice of the trucking industry in Missouri, over 240 motor carrier and allied industry members and guests, attended business sessions and heard from local and national speakers.

The Wednesday evening "Welcome" reception was followed by a full day of educational programs about current issues including, Highway Funding, CSA Regulations, "Jury of Our Peers: Inside a Trucking Case" from Roberts Perryman and "The Economics of Energy Access and Fuel Costs" from Rayola Dougher of The American Petroleum Institute.

At the Candlelight Banquet on Thursday night, Mike Walker was awarded the prestigious "Frank G. Campbell Award for Outstanding Service".

Lou Helmsing, Craftsmen Trailer, LLC, Saint Charles, MO was awarded the "G. Findley Reed Award" the allied industry's highest service award.

The Ursel G. Lewellen Scholarship was awarded again this year to Leslie Ann Hall, a graduate of Missouri State University in Springfield with a bachelor's degree in Logistics and Supply Chain Management and master's in Business Administration, a sophomore at the University of Missouri Law School. This scholarship was established by the Association at the University of Missouri Law School, Columbia, in honor of its first Executive Manager, Ursel G. Lewellen.

The Missouri State University Logistics and Transportation Scholarship was awarded to Christopher DeWeese, majoring in Logistics and Supply Chain Management and Logistics.

The final day of the conference was wrapped up by guest speaker Michael Card, American Trucking Associations First Vice Chairman and President of Combined Transport, Inc. of Central Point, Oregon. Golfers proceeded to the course for a fun day of golfing at the Forest Park Golf Course. Winners were as follows: First Flight: First Place Team- Rich Hawkins, Tim Laske, David Keach and Bob Kunkel; Second Place Team- Mike Walker, Joe Magee, Jim Cato, Matt Brennan Second Flight: First Place Team- Wayne Lair, Tim Kubiski, Rich Lynn; Second Place Team- Terry Piotrowicz, Larry Smith, Boyd Benkelman, and Jimmy Smith.