MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

NEWS RELEASE

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

For Immediate Release

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

Columbia, MO --The 2016 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Annual SuperTech Competition, Safety & Maintenance Conference and Expo was attended by nearly 300 Safety and Maintenance Professionals and included 20 speakers. The two day event was sponsored by both the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors and the MoTA Technology and Maintenance Council at the Holiday Inn Executive Center, Columbia, Missouri, April 13 & 14. The event featured 26 exhibit booths.

Twenty-nine full-time heavy-duty truck technicians participated in the SuperTech Competition, which included a written exam and 11 challenging stations. The competition was held in the Holiday Inn Exhibit Hall Wednesday followed by a Tech Training Fair Thursday morning. **Donnie Allison, Walmart Transportation** was named the 2015 SuperTech of the Year and awarded a Grand Prize Trophy and tickets to the Talladega Race plus a paid hotel stay sponsored by Fontaine Fifth Wheel. Second Place Winner was **Brian Engemann of Mid American Peterbilt**. Third Place was awarded to **Kevin Fricke of Clarke Power Services, Inc.**

Plaques were presented to the individual station winners:

Highest Written Score	Kevin Fricke	Clarke Power Services, Inc.
APU	Donnie Allison	Walmart Transportation
Steering Suspension	Ryan Makurat	Old Dominion Freight Line
Tire-Wheel	Donnie Allison	Walmart Transportation
Starting-Charging	Brian Engemann	Mid American Peterbilt
Brakes / ABS	Mark Lammert	Walmart Transportation
Air System	Kevin Fricke	Clarke Power Services, Inc.
5 th Wheel	Mark Lammert	Walmart Transportation
Electrical	Kevin Fricke	Clarke Power Services, Inc.
Wiring Diagrams	Michael Witthar	Central Power Systems & Services, Inc.
CSA PMI	Kevin Fricke	Clarke Power Services, Inc.
Engine Diagnostic	Travis Vaughan	MHC Kenworth

Ed Boes, D & D Sexton Inc, Carthage MO was named the 2015-16 Maintenance Professional of the Year for his contribution of time, talent, and dedicated work given to the Missouri Trucking Association's Technology & Maintenance Council and the success of the SuperTech Competition.

The Safety Conference was highlighted by the 69th annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety, maintenance and driving professionals with over 100 company officials in attendance.

This year 19 drivers earned 5-year pins as members of the Chairman's Safe Driving Club; 4 drivers with **Buchheit Logistics**, 7 with **D & D Sexton, Inc.**, 2 with **Frontier Leasing, Inc.**, and 6 with **Transport Distribution Company**. These drivers have demonstrated hard work, striving to keep our highways safe by operating accident free with no citations both on duty and on personal time. They join 195 drivers representing 8 companies accepted into this illustrious group.

Safety Council Service Award pins were given to recognize dedicated safety professionals devoting time to attend council meetings and participate in safety events sponsored by the council. One year pins were awarded to: Steff Copeland of MoDOT Motor Carrier Services, Nolene Davis of Impact Training Solutions, Angela Kimberlin of St. James Transports, Donnie Lester of Tri-State Motor Transit, Nicholas Mutter of XPOLogistics, Mary Paluszek of FedEx Express, Russ Quinn of MoDOT, Stephen Westerhouse of Frontier Leasing, Inc., Tom White of XPOLogistics and Jeff Yarnall of XPOLogistics. The 5 year pin was awarded to Rose Kastrup of CSA Advisors.

Four major fields recognized -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Drivers of the Month; 2015 Driver of the Year; the Safety Professional of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.

The 2015 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Randy Davis**, a driver for **XPOLogistics of Joplin**, **Missouri**. Mr. Davis has been a professional driver for 26 years and has amassed over two million miles. Captain David Earney of the Missouri State Highway Patrol presented Mr. Davis with a custom designed keepsake ring and framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety and maintenance operations.

Keynote speaker **Thomas Miller of America's Road Team** spoke to the group and congratulated the Drivers of the Month.

The drivers recognized for outstanding performance, each were presented with a commemorative engraved Browning Knife from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the drivers and technicians was Rocky Griffith of Walmart Transportation, St. James, MO and Chairman of the MoTA Board of Directors.

The drivers of the month, their company, hometown and lifetime miles are listed below:

January	Don Thieret	Buchheit Logistics	Perryville, MO	4.5 Million Miles
February	Nathan Riney	Buchheit Logistics	Advance, MO	3.5 Million Miles
March	Howard Hall	Buchheit Logistics	Sedgewickville, MO	4 Million Miles
April	Bill McKinley	Buchheit Logistics	Union, MO	3.5 Million Miles
May	Glen Horack	Buchheit Logistics	Elkland, MO	4 Million Miles
June	Darin Haggett	Buchheit Logistics	Patterson, MO	1.5 Million Miles
July	Wes Wilkerson	Buchheit Logistics	Harviell, MO	2 Million Miles
-		-Continued-		

August	Jerry Phenix	Group One, Inc.
September	Randy Davis	XPOLogistics
October	W. Frank Dexter	Gully Transportation
November	Henry Grider	Transland
December	Sid Naramore	Buchheit Logistics

Holden, MO4.5 Million MilesMineral Point, MO1.2 Million MilesHannibal, MO5 Million MilesMount Vernon MO4.5 Million MilesChaffee, MO2.5 Million Miles

Mary Paluszek of FedEx Express in Berkeley, MO was presented the "Safety Professional of the Year" award for her outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, her company and the community. Presenting the plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association was Scott Marion, the Director of MoDOT Motor Carrier Services.

The Grand Trophy winner for the 2015 Overall Safe Fleet was **XPOLogistics**, **St. Louis**, **MO**, with an accident ratio of .16.

The "Fleet Safety Contest" is a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best safety record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2014-2015 contest period. Plaques were presented to the winners in each of four divisions of competition by Mike Bohon and Susan Bryant of Great West Casualty, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards.

The winner in the "Local Division" was **XPOLogistics**, **St. Louis**, **MO**. Honorable mention in the local division went to **ABF Freight System**, **Fort Smith**, **AR**

In the "Over the Road, Up to One Million Miles" category, the winner was **Twehous Excavating Company, Jefferson City, MO.** Honorable mention in the Up to One Million Miles category went to **Hull Trucking, Inc., Old Appleton, MO.**

The plaque winner in the "Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles" category was **ABF Freight System, Fort Smith, AR**; honorable mention in this category went to **Wil-Trans, Strafford, MO.**

In the "Over the Road, Over Five Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was American Central Transport, Liberty, MO.; honorable mention in this category went to D & D Sexton, Inc., Carthage, MO.

#######

04/20/16