MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

Contact: Tom Crawford

Telephone: (573) 634-3388

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

Lake Ozark, MO --The 2017 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Annual Safety Conference and Awards Banquet was attended by over 150 Safety Professionals and included 23 speakers. The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at Camden on the Lake, Lake Ozark, Missouri, February 16 & 17.

The Safety Conference was highlighted by the 70th annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with over 160 company officials in attendance.

This year 19 drivers earned 5-year pins as members of the Chairman's Safe Driving Club; 2 drivers with **Buchheit Logistics**, 5 with **D & D Sexton, Inc.**, 2 with **Frontier Leasing, Inc.**, 5 with **Orscheln Farm and Home**, and 5 with **Transport Distribution Company**. 11 drivers received a 10-year pin for the first time in awards history; 9 with Transport Distribution and 2 with Prime Inc. These drivers have demonstrated hard work, striving to keep our highways safe by operating accident free with no citations both on duty and on personal time. They join 239 drivers representing 8 companies accepted into this illustrious group.

Safety Council Service Award pins were given to recognize dedicated safety professionals devoting time to attend council meetings and participate in safety events sponsored by the council. One year pins were awarded to: Tim Crowley, Waller Truck Company Inc.; Patti Frickenschmidt, Frontier Leasing; John Gervais, Hiland Dairy; Brandon Leininger, American Central Transport; Brad Redden, Buchheit Logistics; David Ross, JMN Transport; Nicole Swartzendruber, Orscheln Farm and Home; Mike Tettamble, Wil-Trans; and David Vargyas, R & R Trucking.

Four major fields recognized -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Professional Drivers of the Month; 2016 Professional Driver of the Year; the Safety Professional of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.

The 2016 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Thomas Miller**, a driver for **Prime Inc. of Springfield, Missouri**. Mr. Miller has been a professional driver for 20 years and has amassed nearly three million miles. Chris Luebbert of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration assisted by Kelly Anderson of Impact Training Solutions, sponsor of the award, presented Mr. Miller with a custom designed keepsake ring and framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety and maintenance operations.

-Continued-

The professional drivers recognized for outstanding performance, each were presented with a commemorative engraved Browning Knife from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the professional drivers was Michael Gully of Gully Transportation, Quincy, IL and Chairman of the MoTA Board of Directors.

The Professional Drivers of the Month, their company, *hometown* and lifetime miles are listed below:

January	Albert Hockett	XPOLogistics	Rolla, MO	3.5 Million Miles
February	R. Gene Conduff	D & D Sexton	Carthage, MO	4.4 Million Miles
March	Stan Martin	XPOLogistics	Springfield, MO	3 Million Miles
April	Donald Lewis	Wil-Trans	Republic, MO	5 Million Miles
May	Steven Fields	YRC Freight	Independence, MO	3 Million Miles
June	Sid Naramore	Buchheit Logistics	Chaffee, MO	2 Million Miles
July	Howard Hall	Buchheit Logistics	Sedgewickville, MO	4.6 Million Miles
August	W. Frank Dexter	Gully Transportation	Hannibal, MO	5 Million Miles
September	Keith Schwent	Buchheit Logistics	Perryville, MO	3 Million Miles
October	Glen Horack	Prime Inc.	Elkland, MO	4 Million Miles
November	Thomas Miller	Prime Inc.	Bunker Hill, MO	3 Million Miles
December	Nora Black	Orscheln Farm & Home	Rush Hill, MO	2.5 Million Miles

Mike Tettamble of Wil-Trans in Springfield, MO was presented the "Safety Professional of the Year" award for his outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, his company and the community. Presenting the plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association was Steff Copeland, MoDOT - Motor Carrier Services.

The Grand Trophy winner for the 2016 Overall Safe Fleet was **Walmart Transportation**, **St. James**, **MO**.

The "Fleet Safety Contest" is a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best safety record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2015-2016 contest period. Plaques were presented to the winners in each of six divisions of competition by Mike Bohon and Susan Bryant of Great West Casualty Company, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards.

The winner in the "Local Division – Up to 2 Million Miles" was **Twehous Excavating Company, Jefferson City, MO.** Honorable mention in the local division went to **Solar Transport Company, West Des Moines, IA.**

The winner in the "Local Division – Over 2 Million Miles" was **D & D Sexton**, **Inc.**, **Carthage**, **MO**. Honorable mention in the local division went to **Rooney Trucking**, **Inc.**, **Polo**, **MO**.

In the "Over the Road, Up to 2.5 Million Miles" category, the winner was **Artur Express, St. Louis, MO**. Honorable mention in the Up to 2.5 Million Miles category went to **Truck Transport, Inc., St. Louis, MO**.

In the "Over the Road, 2.5 to 5 Million Miles" category, the winner was **Buchheit Logistics**, **Scott City, MO**. Honorable mention in the 2.5 to 5 Million Miles category went to **Certified Express**, **Inc.**, **Neosho**, **MO**.

In the "Over the Road, 5 to 15 Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Transport Distribution Company, Joplin, MO.**; honorable mention in this category went to **TransLand, Springfield, MO.**

In the "Over the Road, Over 15 Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Walmart Transportation, St. James, MO.**; honorable mention in this category went to **FedEx Freight, Memphis, TN.**

#######

02/23/17