MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

Contact: Tom Crawford

Telephone: (573) 634-3388

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

Lake Ozark, MO --The 2018 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Annual Safety Conference and Awards Banquet was attended by over 100 Safety Professionals and included 11 speakers. The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at Camden on the Lake, Lake Ozark, Missouri, February 15 & 16.

The Safety Conference was highlighted by the 71st annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with over 160 company officials in attendance.

For thirty-seven of the last thirty-eight years, the **Missouri Trucking Association** has received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users.

Safety Council Service Award pins were given to recognize dedicated safety professionals devoting time to attend council meetings and participate in safety events sponsored by the council. One year pins were awarded to: Susan Bryant, Great West Casualty Co and Mike Walczuk, Assured Partners Transportation. Five year pins were awarded to: Jeff Spainhower, Midland Transport; Bruce Aden, Dino's Trucking Inc.; Dustin Kallmeyer, Kallmeyer Bros. Enterprises; Erle Bergstrom, Orscheln Farm & Home and Todd Smith, Associated Wholesale Grocers, Inc.

This year 14 drivers earned 5-year pins as members of the Chairman's Safe Driving Club; 4 drivers with **Buchheit Logistics**, 3 with **D & D Sexton**, 1 with **Frontier Leasing, Inc.**, 2 with **Orscheln Farm and Home**, and 4 with **Transport Distribution Company**. 2 drivers received a 10-year pin; a driver with **D & D Sexton** and a Driver with **Prime Inc**. These drivers have demonstrated hard work, striving to keep our highways safe by operating accident free with no citations both on duty and on personal time. They join 216 drivers representing 9 companies accepted into this illustrious group.

Four major safety fields were recognized -- the Safest Fleets Contest; the Missouri Professional Drivers of the Month; 2017 Professional Driver of the Year; the Safety Professional of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.

The 2017 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Howard Hall**, a driver for **Buchheit Logistics**, **Scott City**, **Missouri**. Mr. Hall has been a professional driver for 42 years and has amassed nearly 4.7

-Continued-

million miles. Angle Hoecker of the Traffic & Highway Safety Division of Missouri Department of Transportation, presented Mr. Hall with a custom designed keepsake ring and framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety and maintenance operations.

The professional drivers recognized for outstanding performance, each were presented with a commemorative engraved Browning Knife from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the professional drivers was Greg Swift of Swift Carriers Inc., Marshall, MO and Chairman of the MoTA Board of Directors.

The Professional Drivers of the Month, their company, *hometown* and lifetime miles are listed below:

January	Kevin Flick	Buchheit Logistics	Perryville, MO	3.5 Million Miles
February	Mike Dunbar	Orscheln Farm & Home	Moberly, MO	4.4 Million Miles
March	Phillip Ritchie	Wilson Logistics	Hargill, TX	2.8 Million Miles
April	Larry Massey	Frontier Leasing	Seneca, MO	5 Million Miles
May	Darrell Schmit	Orscheln Farm & Home	Clifton Hill, MO	3 Million Miles
June	Nora Black	Orscheln Farm & Home	Chaffee, MO	2.5 Million Miles
July	Donald Lewis	Wilson Logistics	Republic, MO	5.4 Million Miles
August	Neal Bethards	Orscheln Farm & Home	Eldon, MO	1.9 Million Miles
September	Mark Nilges	Warrenton Oil Co.	Montgomery City, MO	2.4 Million Miles
October	Sid Naramore	Buchheit Logistics	Chaffee, MO	2.8 Million Miles
November	Howard Hall	Buchheit Logistics	Sedgewickville, MO	4.7 Million Miles
December	Darrin Davis	Buchheit Logistics	East Prairie, MO	1.5 Million Miles

Gaye Banks of Group One in Kansas City, MO was presented the "Safety Professional of the Year" award for her outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, her company and the community. Presenting the plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association was Mike Tettamble of Wilson Logistics.

The Grand Trophy winner for the 2017 Overall Safe Fleet was **Walmart Transportation**, **St. James, MO**.

The "Fleet Safety Contest" is a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best safety record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2016-2017 contest period. Plaques were presented to the winners in each of six divisions of competition by Mike Bohon and Susan Bryant of Great West Casualty Company, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards.

The winner in the "Local Division – Up to 2 Million Miles" was **Buchheit Logistics**, **Scott City**, **MO**. Honorable mention in the local division went to **Dino's Trucking Inc.**, **St. Louis**, **MO**.

The winner in the "Local Division – Over 2 Million Miles" was **FedEx Freight**, **Harrison**, **AR**. Honorable mention in the local division went to **A B F Freight**, **Fort Smith**, **AR**.

Missouri Trucking Association Page Three

In the "Over the Road, Up to 2.5 Million Miles" category, the winner was **Tri-State Motor Transit Company, Joplin, MO.** Honorable mention in the Up to 2.5 Million Miles category went to **Solar Transport Company, West Des Moines, IA.**

In the "Over the Road, 2.5 to 5 Million Miles" category, the winner was **Wilson Logistics**, **Springfield, MO**. Honorable mention in the 2.5 to 5 Million Miles category went to **F M C Transport INc.**, **Willow Springs, MO**.

In the "Over the Road, 5 to 15 Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Transport Distribution Company, Joplin, MO.**; honorable mention in this category went to **American Central Transport Inc., Kansas City, MO.**

In the "Over the Road, Over 15 Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Walmart Transportation**, **St. James**, **MO**.; honorable mention in this category went to **FedEx Freight**, **Harrison**, **AR**.

#######

02/20/18