MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

MISSOURI TRUCKING

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

Lake Ozark, MO --The 2019 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Annual Safety Conference and Awards Banquet was attended by over 100 Safety Professionals and included 8 speakers. The two day event was sponsored by the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors at Camden on the Lake, Lake Ozark, Missouri, February 28 through March 1.

The Safety Conference was highlighted by the 72nd annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with over 175 company officials in attendance.

For thirty-eight of the last thirty-nine years, the **Missouri Trucking Association** has received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users.

Safety Council Service Award pins were given to recognize dedicated safety professionals devoting time to attend council meetings and participate in safety events sponsored by the council. One year pins were awarded to: Andy Standefer- CFI, Mike Wright- Certified Express Inc., and Dale Klump- Mississippi Lime. Five year pins were awarded to: Mike Bohon- Great West Casualty Company, and Lora Littles- Transland. A fifteen year pin was awarded to Dave White-Prime, Inc.

This year 10 drivers earned 5-year pins as members of the Chairman's Safe Driving Club; 3 drivers with **Buchheit Logistics**, 3 with **D & D Sexton**, 3 with **Orscheln Farm and Home**, and 1 with **Prime Inc**. There were 2 drivers that earned 10-year pins, 1 from **Buchheit Logistics**, and 1 with **D &D Sexton**. These drivers have demonstrated hard work, striving to keep our highways safe by operating accident free with no citations both on duty and on personal time. They join 216 drivers representing 9 companies accepted into this illustrious group.

Four major safety fields were recognized -- the Safest Fleet Contest; the Missouri Professional Drivers of the Month; 2018 Professional Driver of the Year; the Safety Director of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banquet.

The 2018 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Remy Braun**, a driver for **D &D Sexton**. Mr. Braun has been a professional driver for 32 years and has amassed nearly 4.1 Million Miles.

Kelly Anderson with Impact Training Solutions Inc., presented Mr. Braun with a custom designed keepsake ring and framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety and maintenance operations.

The professional drivers recognized for outstanding performance, each were presented with a commemorative engraved Winchester Knife from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the professional drivers was Mark Walker of TransLand, Springfield, MO and Chairman of the MoTA Board of Directors.

The Professional Drivers of the Month, their company, *hometown* and lifetime miles are listed below:

January	Larry Thorp	Orscheln Farm & Home	Cairo, MO	5.2 Million Miles
February	Jody Bush	Witte Bros. Exchange	Troy, MO	5.2 Million Miles
March	Nora Black	Orscheln Farm & Home	Rush Hill, MO	3.0 Million Miles
April	Frank Dexter	Gully Transportation	Hannibal, MO	5 Million Miles
May	Henry Grider	TransLand	Mt Vernon, MO	5 Million Miles
June	Sid Naramore	Buchheit Logistics	Chaffee, MO	3 Million Miles
July	Samuel Hicks	TransLand	Elkland, MO	1 Million Miles
August	Keith Schwent	Buchheit Logistics	Perryville, MO	7.5 Million Miles
September	Kevin Flick	Buchheit Logistics	Vienna, IL	3.1 Million Miles
October	Frank Finan	Christenson Transportation	on Fairmount, NE	3.3 Million Miles
November	Darrin Haggett	Buchheit Logistics	Patterson, MO	1.7 Million Miles
December	Remy Braun	D & D Sexton	Carthage, MO	3.9 Million Miles

Jeff Yarnall with CFI, Joplin, MO was presented the "Safety Director of the Year" award for his outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, his company and the community. Presenting the plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association was Mike Tettamble of Wilson Logistics.

The Grand Trophy winner for the 2018 Overall Safe Fleet was **D &D Sexton, Carthage, MO**.

The "Fleet Safety Contest" is a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best safety record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2017-2018 contest period. Plaques were presented to the winners in each of six divisions of competition by Mike Bohon and Susan Bryant of Great West Casualty Company, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards.

The winner in the "Local Division – Up to 2 Million Miles" was **D &D Sexton**, **Carthage**, **MO**. Honorable mention in the local division went to **Buchheit Logistics**, **Scott City**, **MO**.

The winner in the "Local Division – Over 2 Million Miles" was FedEx Freight, Harrison, AR.

Missouri Trucking Association Page Three

In the "Over the Road, Up to 2.5 Million Miles" category, the winner was **Opies Transport,Inc. MO.** Honorable mention in the Up to 2.5 Million Miles category went to **Certified Express Inc., Neosho, MO.**

In the "Over the Road, 2.5 to 5 Million Miles" category, the winner was **Wilson Logistics**, **Springfield, MO**. Honorable mention in the 2.5 to 5 Million Miles category went to **F M C Transport INc.**, **Willow Springs, MO**.

In the "Over the Road, 5 to 15 Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **D &D Sexton**Inc., Carthage, MO.; honorable mention in this category went to Jack Cooper Transport
Company, Kansas City, MO.

In the "Over the Road, Over 15 Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Walmart Transportation**, **St. James**, **MO**.; honorable mention in this category went to **TransLand**, **Springfield**, **MO**.

The "Overall Safe Fleet" winner was D & D Sexton Inc., Carthage, MO.

03/6/19