MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL SAFETY AWARDS

Lake Ozark, MO --The 2013 Missouri Trucking Association (MoTA) Annual Safety and Maintenance Conference was attended by more than 140 Safety Professionals and featured 40 speakers. The two day event was sponsored by both the MoTA Council of Safety Supervisors and the MoTA Technology and Maintenance Council at the Country Club Hotel & Spa, Lake Ozark, Missouri, March 26 & 27, 2013. The event featured more than 40 exhibit booths.

The conference was highlighted by the 66th annual Safety Awards Banquet honoring the trucking industry's finest safety and driving professionals with over 250 company officials in attendance.

For thirty-two of the last thirty-three years, the **Missouri Trucking Association** has received the coveted Summa Cum Laude Award from American Trucking Associations' State Association Recognition Program for effectively fostering and promoting highway safety programs within Missouri for the greater good of the trucking industry and all highway users. Accepting the award was Rick Hinkle, who served as Chairman of the Council of Safety Supervisors during the 2011 contest period.

Four major fields of safety -- the Fleet Safety Contest; the Missouri Drivers of the Month and 2012 Driver of the Year; the Safety Director of the Year; and the Missouri Technicians of the Month and 2012 Technician of the Year -- shared the spotlight at the banguet.

The 2012 Missouri Driver of the Year is **Ronald Hoover**, a driver for **Prime, Inc. of Springfield, Missouri**. Mr. Hoover has been a professional driver for 30 years and has driven nearly four million miles during his career without a single accident.

Colonel Ron Replogle, Superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, presented Mr. Hoover with a custom designed keepsake ring and a framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in highway safety.

The drivers and technicians recognized for outstanding performance, each were presented with a commemorative engraved memento from the Missouri Trucking Association. Introducing each of the drivers and technicians was Brett Sheets of Steelman Transportation in Springfield, MO and Chairman of the MoTA Board of Directors.

The drivers of the month, their company, *hometown* and lifetime miles are listed below:

January	Steven Fields	YRC Worldwide	Independence, MO	2.7 Million Miles
February	Danny Womack	D & D Sexton	Wyandotte, OK	3.2 Million Miles
March	Jerry Pate	Walmart Fleet	New Haven, MO	8 Million Miles
April	Ronald Hoover	Prime Inc.	Casper, WY	3.5 Million Miles
May	Henry Grider	TCSI/Transland	Mount Vernon, MO	4.3 Million Miles
June	Remy Braun	D & D Sexton	Mount Vernon, MO	2.5 Million Miles
July	Daniel Willett	Walmart Fleet	Lee's Summit, MO	3.6 Million Miles
August	Glen Horack	Prime, Inc.	Elkland, MO	3.5 Million Miles
September	Thomas Miller	Prime, Inc.	Bunker Hill, IL	2.1 Million Miles
October	Darvin Campbell	Elmer Buchheit	Chaffee, MO	1.2 Million Miles
November	Michael Dye	TCSI/Transland	Windyville, MO	2.7 Million Miles
December	Todd Bogatzke	TCSI/Transland	Owensville, MO	3.4 Million Miles

The first ever, Missouri Maintenance Technician of the Year was **Rick Busse** employed by **Associated Wholesale Grocers** of **Springfield, MO.** He was presented with a framed certificate from the Missouri Trucking Association for his excellence in technology and maintenance. The first five maintenance technicians of the month, their company and *hometown* are listed below:

October	Stacy Bradley	Springfield Freightliner	Mount Vernon, MO
November	Rick Busse	Assoc. Wholesale Grocers	Willard, MO
December	Donald Smith	Springfield Freightliner	Nixa, MO
January	Madison Bledsoe	TCSI/Transland	Mount Vernon, MO
February	Cody Jenkins	Central Power Systems	Ava, MO

Donna Underwood, Steelman Transportation, Inc., Springfield, MO, was presented the "Safety Professional of the Year" award for her outstanding leadership in safety related programs designed for the trucking industry, her company and the community. Presenting the winner's plaque and an engraved clock from the Missouri Trucking Association to Ms. Underwood was Jan Skouby, the Director of Motor Carrier Services Unit of Missouri Department of Transportation.

The Grand Trophy winner in the "Fleet Safety Contest", a competition among motor carrier <u>fleets</u> for the best safety record on a fleet-wide basis during the 2011-2012 contest period, was **Walmart* Transportation** of **St. James, MO**, 27 million miles with an accident ratio of .07. Accepting the trophy on behalf of Walmart* Transportation was Mr. Brent Kinstler.

Plaques were presented to the winners in each of four divisions of competition by Jim Pruett of Great West Casualty, sponsor of the fleet safety contest awards. The winner in the "Local Division"

Missouri Trucking Association Page Three

was **D & D Sexton**, **Inc.**, **Carthage**, **MO**. Honorable mention in the local division went to **Jack Cooper Transport**, **Kansas City**, **MO**

In the "Over the Road, Up to One Million Miles" category, the winner was **Hull Trucking, Inc.**, **Old Appleton, MO.** Honorable mention in the Up to One Million Miles category went to **Twehous Excavating, Inc. of Jefferson City, MO.**

The plaque winner in the "Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles" category was **Buchheit Trucking Service**, **Scott City**, **MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **Frontier Leasing**, **Inc.**, **Joplin**, **MO** and **Opies Transport**, **Inc.**, **Eldon**, **MO**.

In the "Over the Road, Over Five Million Miles" category, the plaque winner was **Walmart* Transportation, St James, MO**; honorable mention in this category went to **American Central Transport, Inc., Liberty, MO.**

########

04/24/13