## MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247—102 East High Street JEFFERSON CITY, MISSOURI 65102

## **NEWS RELEASE**

For Immediate Release

## Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388

## MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION HOLDS ANNUAL MEETING

**Branson, MO-** The membership of the Missouri Trucking Association held their annual convention September 25-27, 2013 at the Chateau on the Lake in Branson, Missouri and elected the following slate of officers to lead the association during the 2013 – 2014 year.

Chairman: Troy Robertson, Con-way Truckload, Joplin, MO

1st Vice Chairman: Jim Wingfield, Tri-State Motor Transit Co., Joplin, MO

2<sup>nd</sup> Vice Chairman: Rocky Griffith, Walmart Transportation, St. James, MO

3<sup>rd</sup> Vice Chairman: Michael Gully, Gully Transportation, Inc., Quincy, IL

Treasurer: Larry Kallmeyer, Kallmeyer Enterprises, Inc, Hermann, MO

ATA Vice President: Danny Opie, Opies Transport, Inc., Eldon, MO

Alternate ATA Vice President: John Hancock., Prime, Inc., Springfield, MO

During the three-day annual meeting, marking MoTA's 76th year as the voice of the trucking industry in Missouri, over 240 motor carrier and allied industry members and guests, attended business sessions and heard from local and national speakers.

The Wednesday evening "Welcome" reception was followed by a full day of educational programs about current issues including, Alternative Fuels, The Federal Regulatory Environment, CSA Score in the Courtroom, Economic Outlook, Tax Issues Impacting the Transportation Industry, with a chance to Meet the Pros.

At the Candlelight Banquet on Thursday night, Tom B. Kretsinger, Jr. was awarded the prestigious "Frank G. Campbell Award for Outstanding Service".

Brad Sturges, Springfield Freightliner Sales, Springfield, Missouri was awarded the "G. Findley Reed Award" the allied industry's highest service award.

The Ursel G. Lewellen Scholarship was awarded again this year to Leslie Ann Hall, a graduate of Missouri State University in Springfield with a bachelor's degree in Logistics and Supply Chain Management and master's in Business Administration, a junior at the University of Missouri Law School. This scholarship was established by the Association at the University of Missouri Law School, Columbia, in honor of its first Executive Manager, Ursel G. Lewellen.

The Missouri State University Logistics and Transportation Scholarship was awarded to Derek A. Schwartze, majoring in Logistics and Supply Chain Management.

The final day of the conference was wrapped up by guest speaker Philip Byrd, Sr, American Trucking Associations First Vice Chairman and President & CEO of Bulldog Highway Express of Charleston, South Carolina. Golfers proceeded to the course for a fun day of golfing at the Payne Stewart Golf Course. Winners were as follows: First Place Team- Steve Cook, Chris St .John, Chester Pallohusky, and Greg Nestler; Second Place Team- Scott Chastain, Mark Walker, Jamie Hammons, and Eric Evans.