NEWS RELEASE

MISSOURI TRUCKING ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 1247 Jefferson City, Missouri 65102

Contact: Tom Crawford Telephone: (573) 634-3388 For Immediate Release

MISSOURI TRUCK DRIVING CHAMPIONSHIPS IN CHESTERFIELD

CHESTERFIELD, MO. – On June 6 & 7, 2014, the Missouri Trucking Association held the 47th Annual Missouri Truck Driving Championships at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Conference Center in Chesterfield, MO, the Official TDC Headquarters.

The two-day event, sponsored by the Association's Council of Safety Supervisors, evaluated 168 drivers on a written test of their knowledge of the industry; safety and security; first aid, health and personal safety; and fire safety. Another segment of testing included hands-on required Federal vehicle inspections. The participants then competed on a point-value-assessed driving skills course of six obstacles completed under actual everyday conditions. In their respective classes, drivers tested their expertise in the driving skills they use daily. The skills course tested drivers' ability to judge distances, maneuver tight spaces, park, and position their vehicle exactly over scales, before barriers or around curves.

Over 600 on-lookers at the Awards Banquet Saturday evening saw **Wyatt Hooper** of Republic, MO, receive the prestigious "Grand Champion" title as Missouri's best of the best. Wyatt, a driver for Con-way Freight of Marshfield, MO achieved this recognition by outscoring all other competitors in all three elements of skill and knowledge.

Mr. Hooper was also awarded the top driver in the Sleeper Berth Class in the annual safe driving competition. He will be joined by eight other class winners as the Missouri Championships Team travels to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania to compete against other state teams in the American Trucking Association's National Truck Driving Championships August 12 – August 16, 2014. During the competition the Missouri Team will compete against 450 other professionals vying for selection as the nation's top professional truck drivers.

First, second and third place winners in all nine classes of competition as well as the top "Rookie", the driver with the best Pre-Trip Inspection, and the driver with the highest score on the Written Examination were honored at the Awards Banquet Saturday evening.

Winners and runners-up in the classes of competition are listed below with the driver's hometown, and employer company.

Straight Truck Class

- 1st Paul Tyler, Arnold, MO Con-way Freight, St. Louis, MO
- 2nd James Houghton, Gower, MO FedEx Express, Kansas City, MO
- 3rd Ben Williams, Marshfield, MO Con-way Freight, Marshfield, MO

Three Axle Class

- 1st Robert Bramwell, Centerview, MO ABF Freight System, Sedalia, MO
- 2nd Wayne Darnell, Poplar Bluff, MO Con-way Freight, Poplar Bluff, MO
- 3rd Terry Burke, St. Charles, MO FedEx Freight, St. Charles, MO

Four Axle Class

- 1st Albert Hockett, St. James, MO Con-way Freight, Rolla, MO
- 2nd **Donald Cook**, Gobles, MI *Prime, Inc., Springfield, MO*
- 3rd Wayne Pierce, Old Monroe, MO UPS Freight, St. Louis, MO

Five Axle Van Class

- 1st **Joseph Hartsell**, Collinsville, IL *UPS Freight, St. Louis, MO*
- 2nd Rex McCoy, Joplin, MO D & D Sexton, Carthage, MO
- 3rd **Buddy Gray**, Brownsville, PA *Prime, Inc., Springfield, MO*

Tank Truck Class

- 1st Harold Augustine, Crane, MO Solar Transport Company, Springfield, MO
- 2nd Kenny Wulf, Nixa, MO Associated Wholesale Grocers, Springfield, MO
- 3rd **Jack Lovan,** Willow Springs, MO Walmart Transportation, St. James, MO

Flatbed Class

- 1st Dohosan Vreeland, Las Cruces, NM Barlow Truck Lines, Faucett, MO
- 2nd Mitch Stegner, Pilot Grove, MO UPS Freight, Columbia, MO
- 3rd Chris Luther, Buffalo, MO Mueller Transportation, Springfield, MO

Sleeper Berth Class

- 1st Wyatt Hooper, Republic, MO Con-way Freight, Marshfield, MO
- 2nd Rod Chenoweth, Gravois Mills, MO Walmart Transportation, St. James, MO
- 3rd Glen Horack, Elkland, MO Prime, Inc., Springfield, MO

Twin Trailers Class

- 1st Anthony Fengel, Kansas City, MO FedEx Freight, Kansas City, MO
- 2nd **Phillip Wampler,** Nixa, MO FedEx Freight, Springfield, MO
- 3rd Jason Budd, Clever, MO FedEx Freight, Springfield, MO

Step Van Class

- 1st Nick Frazier, Granby, MO FedEx Ground, Joplin, MO
- 2nd Steven Campbell, Webb City, MO FedEx Ground, Joplin, MO
- 3rd Jared Weidmann, Kansas City, MO FedEx Ground, Kansas City, MO

Thomas Wood of Savannah, MO, a driver for *YRC Freight* out of Kansas City, MO, was named "Rookie of the Year" for his outstanding well-rounded performance as a first-time contestant.

The "Pre-Trip Inspection" award for the highest score in assuring that a vehicle is in safe and efficient operating condition before leaving on a trip went to **Albert Arriola** of Fabens, TX, a driver for *Con-way Truckload* in Joplin, MO.

Regnald Ansbach, Kansas City, MO of *ABF Freight System, Kansas City, MO* received the Award for Highest Written Examination Score.

The "Team Championship" went to **Con-way Freight**, based in Joplin, MO, for having the highest average team score in the competition.

The keynote speakers for the evening were Missouri Members of America's Road Team: Byron Bramwell, YRC Freight; Steven Fields, YRC Freight; Stephanie Klang, Con-way Truckload; and Thomas Miller of Prime, Inc.

06/10/2014